• May 26, 2015

via One Love Foundation | May 26, 2015

Baltimore, MD, May 26, 2015 – The One Love Foundation in honor of Yeardley Reynolds Love – a nonprofit aimed at helping to end relationship violence – announced Todd Stewart from Brown University and Katherine McManus from the University of Notre Dame as the recipients of the 2015 Yeardley Reynolds Love Unsung Hero Awards.  

The YRL Unsung Hero Awards are given annually to a male and a female Division I lacrosse player who demonstrate dedication, integrity, humility, hard work, community service, leadership, kindness and sportsmanship - all qualities Yeardley exemplified throughout her life. These students are nominated by their coaches as a way to recognize their significant contributions to their teams, schools and communities. Stewart and McManus were chosen from 5 male and 5 female finalists.

Stewart is entering his senior year as a History major at Brown University and is a great leader and role model on his team. He regularly participates in community service events and has raised significant funds for Wounded Warrior Canada.  He helped initiate the “Team Up Pledge” for his team to pledge to help stop sexual assault on campus.

McManus is entering her senior year at University of Notre Dame, and is active in campus volunteer activities, specifically with the Fighting Irish Fight for Life (FIFFL), Habitat for Humanity and Adopt-A-Family programs. She also serves as the community service chair of Notre Dame’s Student-Athlete Advisory Council.

“We are truly honored to recognize Todd and Katherine as the 2015 YRL Unsung Heroes,” said Sharon Robinson of the One Love Foundation. “These two student-athletes have made a meaningful positive impact on their teams in many ways other than just scoring goals. They are an inspiration to everyone around them, both on and off the field and they epitomize what is good about collegiate athletics.”

The eight other finalists were Geoffrey Sullivan of Colgate University, Elyse Andrews of University of Delaware, Joseph Ferriso of Hofstra, Mary Sean Wilcox of University of Florida, Patrick Frazier of Loyola University Maryland, Alison Curwin of James Madison University, Kyle Zittel of Penn State and Nora McGreever of Saint Joseph’s University.

About One Love Foundation

The One Love Foundation was created in 2010 following the death of Yeardley Love, a University of Virginia senior and member of the nationally ranked Division I lacrosse team. Yeardley lost her life to relationship violence at the hands of her ex-boyfriend just two weeks shy of graduation. The Foundation seeks to end relationship violence by engaging young people in a movement for change.

Edit post