About the award

The Yeardley Reynolds Love (“YRL”) Unsung Hero Award recognizes the accomplishments of two student-athletes who help their teams achieve success in ways that may not be measured in goals, saves or ground balls. This honor places value on characteristics that are often undervalued in the competitively charged environment of college lacrosse. The Award recognizes the athlete who makes a significant contribution to the team while also bringing joy to teammates. The award recipients exhibit leadership as a positive role model and also are involved in community service. The recipients are awarded a sum of money from the One Love Foundation to be given to their favorite charity.


If you know a student-athlete that is hard-working, humble, honest, kind and enthusiastic, consider nominating now. Nominations are reviewed and selected in the spring.

Congratulations to our 2017 Unsung Heroes!

Abby Finkelstein


Abby Finkelston is a rising senior on the Princeton University women’s lacrosse team. After sustaining severe injuries in a car accident in high school, Abby rebounded to become a starting attacker both her freshman and sophomore years. Through all of this, Abby has been a positive leader for her team. She’s used her injuries to help others in similar circumstances by founding the Wounded Tigers Network, a resource and support system for injured student-athletes at Princeton. In addition to being an exemplary student-athlete, Abby has also been a longtime member of Best Buddies and is actively involved in its Princeton chapter.

Liam Driscoll


Liam is a 2017 graduate of the College of the Holy Cross and will be pursuing a teaching position at Annunciation Catholic School in Denver, Colorado.  A senior captain and lifelong athlete, this Crusader chose Holy Cross because of the many service opportunities that exist in Worcester and because the men’s lacrosse program embraces this culture. A highlight of his collegiate career was participating in the Agape Community Immersion Trip in which he helped revitalize a terrain in Western Massachusetts. He is also deeply involved with Big Brothers Big Sisters of America.

Congratulations to all our 2017 finalists

Maddie Curley

Boston University

Tyler Pfister

Ohio State University

Katie Burgee

Ohio State University

Brady Dove

US Naval Academy

Alina Atayan

Marquette University

Mark Rizzo

University of North Carolina

Lauren D’Amore

University of Pennsylvania

Ryan Lukacovic

University of Virginia

Six years and counting. We could not be more proud of all our past Unsung Heroes!

2016: Kara Stroup

2016: Elijah Conte

2015: Todd Stewart

2015: Katherine McManus

2014: Emily Speck

2014: Dylan Levings

2013: Jason Crane

2013: Zoe Skinner

2012: Ryan Rotanz

2012: Joe Cummings

2011: Dan Burns

2011: Kim Wenger