The One Love Foundation Announces College Athletics Challenge

Share This Article



One Love and new host committee to provide relationship health education to athletes across the country.


June 13, 2019—The One Love Foundation announced today its plan to conduct a year-long One Love College Athletics Challenge designed to encourage every National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I, II and III school to host at least one One Love workshop by June 1, 2020, in an effort to provide relationship health education to athletes across the country.

To date, the One Love Foundation has educated over 650,000 people about the difference between healthy and unhealthy relationships. The organization was founded in 2014, after the tragic death of Yeardley Love, a University of Virginia senior and Division I lacrosse player, who was killed in 2010 by her ex-boyfriend.

“To have the support of so many outstanding athletic directors, student-athletes, alumni and colleges is critical to reaching our goal of putting an end to relationship abuse. We are grateful for their leadership and look forward to working with UVA, the NCAA Student-Athlete Engagement Committee and the entire host committee to meet the challenge of bringing One Love’s critical resources to every athletic department in the United States,” said Lela Agnew, Managing Director, Partnerships and Policy of the One Love Foundation.

Joining the College Athletics Challenge Host Committee is a prestigious group of college athletic leaders and professional athletes committed to supporting One Love’s work to raise awareness for this critical issue. The co-chairs of the College Athletics Challenge Host Committee include Sharon Love, Yeardley’s mother and Sharon Robinson, Yeardley’s cousin, both are co-founders of the One Love Foundation, Ted White, Deputy Athletics Director, Julie Myers, Head Women’s Lacrosse, and Lars Tiffany, Head Men’s Lacrosse Coach at the University of Virginia.

The members of the College Athletics Challenge Host Committee are listed below:


NCAA Student-Athlete Engagement Committee


Athletic Conferences:

East Coast Conference, Bob Dranoff, Melissa Reilly

Horizon League, Chris Neuman, Kyle Fairchild

State University of New York Athletic Conference, Tom Di Camillo



College of San Mateo, Andreas Wolf

Duke University, Leslie Barnes

Florida Atlantic University, Nicole Alderson

Jacksonville University, Angela DeMarino

Marist College, Alyssa Gates

Monmouth University, Meghan Casey

Ohio State University, Janine Oman

Syracuse University, Tommy Powell

University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), Ramone Cooper, Caitlin Callaghan

University of Delaware, Jennifer Judy

University of Florida, Jeff Guin

University of North Carolina, Cricket Lane

University of Utah, Nona Richardson

University of Virginia, Ted White, Julie Myers, Lars Tiffany

University of Wisconsin – River Falls, Kellen Wells-Mangold

Yale University, Victoria Chun


Professional Athletes:

UVA Alum: Leah Smith, USA Swimming Olympian

UVA Alum: Anthony Harris, Minnesota Vikings


At the end of the One Love College Athletics Challenge, the One Love Foundation will hold its first ever One Love 2020 Sports Summit hosted by the University of Virginia in June of 2020. This one-day summit will bring together student-athlete leaders and administrative supporters to honor Yeardley’s life and collaborate about the future of relationship health education in athletics.



One Love was founded in honor of Yeardley Love, a 22-year-old college student who was killed by her ex-boyfriend. After her death, the family started the One Love Foundation to educate young people about the difference between healthy and unhealthy relationships. For more information, visit



Latest News