web analytics

One Love announces 2020 Yeardley Reynolds love unsung hero award finalists

One Love announces 2020 Yeardley Reynolds love unsung hero award finalists

One Love announces 2020 Yeardley Reynolds love unsung hero award finalists

Share This Article
Share This Article



New York, NY (May 15, 2020) – The One Love Foundation, dedicated to improving the relationship health of future generations, is proud to announce finalists of the Yeardley Reynolds Love (YRL) Unsung Hero Award, celebrating the accomplishments of collegiate Divisions I, II and III lacrosse players who demonstrate dedication, integrity, humility, hard work, community service, leadership, kindness and sportsmanship.

The YRL Unsung Hero Award was created in 2011 in honor of Yeardley Love, a Division I lacrosse player at the University of Virginia, who was tragically killed by her ex-boyfriend just three weeks shy of her graduation. The One Love Foundation was founded in her name to educate young people on the importance of healthy relationships.

“We are so proud to honor these incredible student-athletes who represent the very best in college athletics,” said Sharon Robinson, One Love Chair, Yeardley’s cousin and head of the YRL Unsung Hero Award committee. “These finalists are wonderful teammates who bring out the best in their teams and communities, and they embody the positive spirit that Yeardley possessed.”

Of the twenty-six 2020 YRL Unsung Hero Award finalists, six winners will be announced the week of May 18, 2020:

Women’s Division I
Ryan Bauer ‘20 – Old Dominion University
Maddie Clark ’20 – University of Oregon
Samantha DeBillis ’20 – Duke University
Halle Duenkel ’20 – James Madison University
Lauren Martin ’20 – University of Viriginia

Men’s Division I
Jackson Appelt ’21 – University of Virginia
Robbie Garavente ’20 – Lafayette College
Peter Hollen ’20 – University of Michigan
Peter Jones ’20 – Fairfield University
Thomas Stevens ’20 – University of Pennsylvania

Women’s Division II
Abby Hammond ’21 – Florida Southern College
Casey Shimborske ’21 – Mercy College
Courtney Wolf ’23 – Holy Family University

Men’s Division II
Stephen Hogan ’20 – Chestnut Hill College
Collin McClelland ’20 – Lynn University
Corey McAndrew ’20 – Frostburg State University

Women’s Division III
Katie Clark ’20 – Rhodes College
Marietta Davis ’21 – United States Coast Guard Academy
Maria Krieg ’22 – Haverford College
Mekayla Montgomery ’20 – Hobart & William Smith College
Chiamaka Ubani ’22 – Colby College

Men’s Division III
Spencer Kriss ’22 – Washington & Lee University
Harrison Ramsey ’20 – Kalamazoo College
Sean Smith ’20 – Connecticut College
Gareth Ulmer ’20 – Hope College
Zach Zavalick ’20 – Wesleyan University

The One Love Foundation is dedicated to improving the relationship health of future generations. The nonprofit organization has educated more than a 1.1 million young people through educational workshops, both in-person and online, by teaching them the signs of unhealthy and healthy relationship behaviors. One Love was founded in honor of Yeardley Love, a 22-year old college student whose life was tragically cut short when she was killed by her ex-boyfriend. Her family learned during the trial that her death could have been prevented had they recognized the signs of an abusive relationship. For more information, visit joinonelove.org.



Your gift has the power to transform relationships and change lives.
Give Today Give Today